[Product Review] Stroller : Baby Jogger – City Select (Part:2 Doubles Mode)

Just over a year ago I wrote up my product review of my favourite stroller in single mode.

Today, after nearly six months of using it as a double, I’m ready to do a review of it again!

 

I still really, really love this stroller. It’s fabulous!

Numbered modes CS BLOG
I’m just covering the doubles features but will include single seat with glider board attachments (and discussing the ones I have tried, so things like two car seats and two bassinets are out)

Mode 1 [with glider board] : This set up worked pretty well but I had to put the bassinet on the lower of the two upper settings (if you have the stroller, you’ll know what I mean) because with it on the upper of the top setting, Dean was really squished trying to stand on the glider board.

Mode 2 : Haven’t tried this mode.

Mode 3 : Wasn’t a fan of this mode. The bassinet was right in Dean’s face and it was hard to access the basket for larger items.

Mode 4 : This is one of our favourite modes. Sammy doesn’t last too long facing forward as it’s a bit overwhelming after a while, but it works great with the two of them. Sammy has to be one click reclined as he can’t sit fully upright while awake without tipping to the side but the seats still fit together. I put Sammy on the bottom if he’s awake but if he falls asleep, I can’t recline him further than that one click unless I turn the upper seat around to face backwards (mode 15)

Mode 5 : Again, not a fan. Dean really doesn’t like facing backwards in the bottom position. He likes to see the world… Or at least not the back of his brothers seat. I’m also not a fan of him in the lower seat with his seat backwards as it takes away a lot of the storage space for his long legs.

Mode 6 : We liked this mode, but not quite enough to make it a favourite. Sammy would ride down below and Dean would ride up top. If Dean was too squirmy, it was a tangle of feet in seconds. Both boys are decently tall and with Sammy having to recline that one click, it made it hard to keep them from squishing each other. They enjoyed facing each other though! Maybe once Sammy can sit more upright, which will make the seats have more space between the leg rests, then this will be a favourite.

Mode 7 : This was our go-to for when Sammy was really little. We used the car seat on the stroller more than the bassinet before Sammy could go into a seat. This made Dean have a view, kept Sammy close by within reach while we walked and also made it easy for Dean to climb in and out of the stroller on his own. Definitely a favourite for the first couple of months.

Mode 8 : This is a good set up for when we have to take transit or if we need to make the stroller work as a triple (with the glider board attached) Dean would ride up top, facing me, and Sammy would be down below. It worked great for reclining Sammy if he fell asleep (and honestly, he doesn’t care about the lack of view – in fact, it helped to keep him from getting overwhelmed while out and about) Not a great match with Dean below and Sammy above with the view and storage basket issues mentioned above, as well as having Sammy reclined one click made it a bit squishier for Dean.

Mode 9 : This set up seemed totally silly to me. Why would I want my infant facing outward with my toddler facing me? Maybe I’m alone in thinking this is a weird set up but it just didn’t jive with us. We made it about a block before I switched it around. Not a fan of this one at all!

Mode 10 (with glider board) : This was our go-to when we didn’t need a second seat. Until the past month or two, I always brought a second seat for Dean, just in case, unless it was a walk to the park. Now that he’s 2.5 years old, he’s walking a lot more. But I also liked to have a backup in case Dean got tired. The glider board made this set up work for us. It was also good for at the mall or on an outing that we drove to in case it got too chaotic or little legs got too tired.

Mode 11 (with glider board) : This is our new go-to for when we don’t need a second seat but I want to be able to get both kids on the stroller to dash around if needed. I also like this mode the most as a Single-And-A-Half-Mode (not quite double mode) because I can strap Sammy into the carrier and Dean in the seat if needed.

Mode 12 : We never put this mode to an active test, but I did put the bassinet and car seat on to see how it was. Not really sure why you would put one baby in a car seat and the other in a bassinet (I guess for acid reflux?) I found it hard to see baby in the bassinet.

Mode 13 (with glider board) : Not a huge fan of this one with the ages I have for the kids. Dean sits in the seat like this all the time as a single stroller and I like it, but I haven’t really used it for Sammy in the seat facing forward and Dean on the board due to Sammy’s age. Also, needing to recline it too far squishes Dean off the board.

Mode 14 : See mode 9 and 12. Not actively tested out.

Mode 15 : This is one of our favourites. Dean sits in the lower seat facing out for ease of climbing in and out and also to see the world, Sammy sits up top facing me so I can keep an eye on him and reach him easier to settle him, talk to him etc. I can recline Sammy one click with this set up *IF* I take Dean’s canopy off. Seeing as he never uses it, I have no issues with that.

Mode 16 : Not a fan of this set up. I liked that I could chat with Dean but I wasn’t a fan of the bassinet out of view. It worked the few times we used it this way, and was better than mode 3, in my opinion, but wasn’t super happy with it.

 

Not shown : A mode that sort of worked was Dean on the top facing forward with Sammy in the car seat facing towards me. Dean liked to be able to see Sammy and I liked that I could see him, too. But it was a bit squishy and not the easiest to get Dean in and out of the stroller. Was good for a few times we went for a walk when both boys were sick but needing fresh air and they just wanted to ride.

 

One of our favourite set ups!
One of our favourite set ups! (mode 15)

 

The bassinet wasn’t a hit for our household. Sammy was rolling early and also didn’t like to lay flat which made it a flop. He preferred the car seat most of the first three months. Around 3 months, I moved him to a seat with an insert I bought. I kept the seat 2-3 clicks reclined until he was starting to sit up more solo. Now, at 5 months, he is in the stroller with the seat only reclined one click (two if sleeping) without any inserts / rolled blankets. The stroller manual says babies can use a seat at 6 months. While I wouldn’t use it from birth, I definitely don’t think you need to wait until six months old before using the seat!

We are rarely using the car seat adapter now – Sammy is getting too big for the car seat and doesn’t find it comfortable for longer periods so we tend to put him in a seat when we use the stroller, even if it’s just a shorter trip.

The glider board is really worth the $100! We use it often and I love how quick and easy it is to attach and remove. It doesn’t take up space – though it does limit the ease of reaching into the basket from that spot if it’s folded up.

 

The storage basket is still amazing in doubles mode. I can fit my LARGE diaper bag, a big lunch bag, my Tula, a blanket and other baby gear in there and STILL stop at the grocery store to grab a few things on the way home.

This is my “car”, as I don’t drive, so I needed a stroller to be able to get us to where we want to go (and we go to a lot of places!) This stroller is living up to my expectations and my families demands. I like that I can change the set up to accommodate our days plans – and that  I can even change the seats while out if one kid is tired or another needs some time to talk while we are walking or if one is not using their seat and it’s now become storage.

With the car seat and D's seat on, I STILL managed to get D's strider bike in the basket to get us to the boardwalk for a ride!
With the car seat and D’s seat on, I STILL managed to get D’s strider bike in the basket to get us to the boardwalk for a ride!

 

I am still in love with this stroller. I worried after getting it that maybe it wasn’t that awesome and I wouldn’t like it as much when we added Baby 2.0 to our family but six months later, I am still enjoying this stroller!

 

 

With two kids, just barely over two years apart, my current City Select stroller stash is :

  • Frame with seat
  • Second seat with posts/pegs
  • Car seat adapter
  • Bassinet
  • One snack tray [*1]
  • One rain cover [*2]
  • Parent console
  • JJ-Cole infant insert
  • Glider board
  • Mommy hook
  • Skip Hop diaper bag [*3]

*1 – I had bought a second tray but decided that due to the ages of the kids that I wouldn’t need a second tray. Once Sammy is older and needs one, Dean will be pretty much done with the stroller.

*2 – I’ve been meaning to buy a second rain cover and days that it’s absolutely pouring rain and we need to get somewhere at a certain time, I am kicking myself for not getting a second one. But I usually just wear Sammy in the carrier and D goes in the seat or Dean goes on the glider board with an umbrella / under my umbrella and Sammy goes in the seat.

*3 – I love this diaper bag because it can be hung up onto the bar, depending on the stroller seat mode (see the photos above) Again, not recommended by City Select, but totally functional and definitely doesn’t change the stability of the stroller!

I didn’t buy the rain cover for the basket, though at times I think it would come in handy. I usually just face the seat forward with the seat rain cover on and it keeps the things in storage dry enough.

 

This is THE stroller for a growing family!

Leave a Reply

