[Foodie Friday] Quinoa Black Bean Salad

It’s been a while (at least a year, gasp) since I’ve done Foodie Fridays.

But with a lifestyle change going on over here (more about it tomorrow) I’m testing new recipes and expanding our regular easy-fast-and-cheap go-to dinners.

This week we did a few black bean recipes. And – gasp – my husband liked them all!
I knew it was definitely worth a share if he was willing to eat it! (Not that I’m a bad cook – I just try out recipes that tend to suck. Honest!)

This is a great and tasty salad that can be used as a side dish or expanded upon to make it a main dish. It can be served warm or cold. It can be eaten with a spoon or a fork. From a bowl or a pla…. Okay, okay. You get it. It’s very customizable to suit your needs and wants at any given time.

Quinoa Black Bean Salad
Quinoa Black Bean Salad

First, you need to cook the quinoa. (Yes! My husband ate quinoa. TWICE this week, in fact!)
I made one cup, as directed on the package and put it in the fridge to chill.

I made the dressing while that was cooking. I put the following ingredients into a Tupperware container and then let Dean shake it while he had a dance party in the living room. It kept him busy and got things mixed up for me!

1/4c lime juice (or the juice from 2 limes)
1/4c cilantro, washed and diced
1tsp garlic, minced
1/4c water (I used warm as I found it pulled the flavour out of the cilantro better)
1/2tsp cumin powder
1/2tsp tabasco sauce

While Dean was shaking things up and the quinoa was cooling in the fridge on a baking tray, I got the rest of the things together.

10oz black beans
1/2c corn, frozen
2 roma tomatoes
1 red pepper
1/2 red onion
6-7 leafs of kale, de-stemmed and chopped

After the quinoa was cooled to room temp, I added it to the rest of the ingredients (sans dressing) and put that and the container of dressing into the fridge while everything got nice and cool. We went out and when we arrived home after a trip to the library, all I had to do was toss the dressing in and mix it up.

I liked it as is but I think next time I want to try some dried cranberries and maybe some kind of nuts added in. Or maybe some diced apple instead of dried cranberries as I’m not sure the texture would go well with the beans, haha.

It was fast, convenient, decently cheap and tasty! Dean loved helping measure out the ingredients and mixing the salad dressing. He also loved going out to the garden to get the kale all by himself (which took five minutes with a detour to the trampoline and the toys…)

It’s not very high in calories, so it’s great as a main dish for myself or a side dish for my husband.

I’ve got lots in the fridge for leftovers. I’d probably give this 3-4 days in the fridge before tossing it… If it lasts that long before getting eaten up!

Yum!

Leave a Reply

