[Service Review] Save On Foods Delivery

Photo Credit : Save On Foods
Photo Credit : Save On Foods

Save On Foods has been doing delivery and pick up offers for a while now. I want to say for the past six-twelve months but I can’t remember exactly when they started.

They rolled out their program to a small section of the lower mainland and it has grown since. Just recently we started being eligible for delivery and when I heard they had a spend $200, get $60 off deal, I knew it was time to give it a try and score some free groceries!

It was a very simple and easy to use website (there’s an app that I am going to use next time – I looked around on it and it’s extremely user friendly) I could select the brands I want and the sizes, just like what options would be available in store. The produce was listed as an “average” price per fruit/veggie and then they weigh and charge you for exactly the amount you are getting when they pick your items and prepare them for delivery. The meat is likely done the same but we buy the set-price items (i.e. 3 chicken breasts for $11, not weight dependant)

I was a bit hesitant to get produce as I am pretty picky about marks and bruising on them but I figured I would give it a try and if it wasn’t a good selection, I would hit the market for produce myself if we did delivery again. I was pleasantly surprised with the fruits and veggies. They were a great selection of apples, oranges, plums, celery, peppers, onions, etc.

Credit : Save On Foods
Photo Credit : Save On Foods

The delivery is scheduled in a two hour window that you can pick from a pretty wide selection – it can be the next day or a week from when you order. They call you a bit ahead of time to confirm when they will arrive. I selected 4-6pm on Friday and at 4:45pm, the driver called to tell me he would be there in twenty minutes. And almost exactly to the minute, he pulled up in the Save On Foods truck. He loaded the groceries into the bins and onto the trolley and brought them to the door. Dean was pretty excited – a delivery of food?! He’s all over that! He loved helping bring the bags from the front door to the kitchen. Sammy was waving fairly enthusiastically at the window when he noticed someone was here. The delivery driver offered to bring them into the kitchen, inside the front door or just pass them to me. With the kids and the dog and the mess, I spared him the trip through the war zone and just had him pass them to me at the door.

I did notice that the 24 pack of individual yogurt pods that I bought, for delivery on October 9th that expired October 12th. I’m not sure if that was missed or if they didn’t have any fresher yogurt, but seeing as my two boys (well, two plus my husband who eats them once in a while) won’t be eating 24 of them in three days, I emailed customer service about it. They told me that I can return items in store but because I had already opened the packaging (which is when I realized the dates) and it was our first shop and an error on their end, they offered a credit on my account.

While I had to plan to be home for that two hour window, it still saved time and so much effort. As I don’t drive, I would either have to load the boys into the stroller, walk 30 minutes (uphill, in the snow… No, wait…) and then try to distract them while I did the shop and then do the 30 minute walk home with a stroller FULL of groceries. It weighs 95lbs with the boys, stroller and diaper bag, on a good day… Never mind when it’s loaded with groceries too! And when I can’t pop up on the curbs because of the weight, it takes us an extra 5-10 minutes to get home because we have to go a different, longer route.

"They're here! YAY!"
“They’re here! YAY!”

Sure, we could do grocery shopping on the weekend when my husband is home to drive. Either as a family or my husband, solo, or maybe with a kid. But that takes away time from our already busy weekends that we would rather spend having family time. I don’t want to sacrifice an hour to grocery shopping.

For $5-8, depending on what time you choose for delivery, it’s totally worth it. And once I get my butt in gear, I can plan meals far enough ahead to be able to do a big shop once or twice a month and only need to pop in for a quick item here and there.

I’m so excited to do this regularly. No more wasting a morning to go to the grocery store. No more having to hope baby naps in the stroller so he’s not antsy about being in the stroller for two hours. And no more having to chase my three year old around while he pulls those darned baskets with the wheels around! My sanity is worth their delivery fee!

If you haven’t tried it already, check it out! You get delivery fees waived the first time so there’s no harm in giving it a try!

 

*disclosure : I did not receive any perks (aside from those available to everyone) for my review. The views expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

