[Foodie Friday] Coconut Pineapple Cashew Rice

Whenever we order thai from a local place, Dean, Sammy and I split a delicious Pineapple Rice dish. I wanted to try something similar but not quite the same.

This was quite tasty – Sammy loved it. Dean wasn’t very impressed with it though. Jason liked it (though he likes anything with cilantro) I enjoyed it and will definitely have to add it to the “yes!” pile of recipes I’ve been trying out lately.

I need to remember to take photos for Foodie Friday’s but between the chaos of tracking everything I put in for calorie counting, changing recipes as I go and the boys tearing apart the living room (and at times each other) I keep forgetting to take photos. Boo!

This recipe is pretty simple and easy. I added chicken breast to my recipe for a bit of added protein (and use up the chicken breast in the fridge)

Recipe :

1.5c uncooked basmati rice, rinsed and soaked for 15 minutes
20oz can of crushed pineapple
13.5oz can of coconut milk
3TBS coconut flakes (unsweetened)
1TBS thai red curry paste
1tsp garlic powder
1/2tsp onion powder
1/2tsp red pepper flakes
1/2tsp ground ginger
1/4tsp black pepper

Garnish :
3TBS lime juice (fresh or concentrate)
1/2c unsalted, roasted cashews
3/4c fresh cilantro, chopped

Strain your can of pineapple, reserving the juices. Add you coconut milk to the juice and then top with water to equal a total of three cups liquid.
Bring liquid to a simmer.
Add rice, pineapple, coconut flakes, curry paste, spices (everything but the garnishes) and simmer, covered, for 20-30m until the rice is cooked
If you want to add chicken, fry up the chicken with a bit of pepper while cooking the rice.
When the rice is almost cooked, toss in the chicken.
Once rice is cooked, remove from heat and leave covered for 5 minutes.
Just before serving, toss in the garnishes. Adding them just before you serve keeps the cashews crunchy, cilantro green and the lime juice from absorbing into the rice and losing some of it’s flavour.

This is an awesome and simple one-pot dish (or two if you add chicken) You could probably cook the chicken right into the pot but I’m anal about making sure the chicken is fully cooked so I did it my way. 20-30m simmering should be long enough to cook it if it’s small enough pieces, I would imagine.

I’ll have to cook this again in order to get some photos! A text blog post just doesn’t do it justice!

Leave a Reply

