[Foodie Friday] Chickpea and Butternut Squash Curry

[Okay, okay, I know. It’s Sunday. I’m a bit behind this weekend!]

A couple of weeks ago, I found butternut squash on sale at the grocery store. I love squash so I couldn’t help but snatch one up….

It sat in the cupboard unloved for a week or two before I finally decided to use it.

During that week leading up to using the squash, Jason had been asking for curry. He isn’t a fan of butternut squash or chickpeas but I decided to try it out anyway.

Of course, the day I planned to make it was the day we had both forgotten that he wouldn’t be home for dinner. Yup… We both realized this in the early afternoon when I had already finished chopping and preparing what I could in the morning. Oh well!

I made it anyway. Dean was indifferent but Sammy and I enjoyed it! It was tasty and hit the spot. It’s meatless but the chickpeas add some major protein points and fill you up quickly!

Recipe :
1 tsp oil
1 medium onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch of cilantro, leaves and stems separated
1 medium butternut squash, cubed
1 can chickpeas
3 TBS butterchicken paste (not sauce!)
1 can coconut milk
2 cups water
3 cups spinach
1/2 cup frozen peas

Heat the oil in a pan. Add the onion, garlic and cilantro stems. Cook over low-medium heat for 8-10 minutes.

When the onions are soft, add the paste and stir continuously for one minute.

Add squash, chickpeas, water, coconut milk and water. Turn heat up to medium-high and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer, reduce heat to low-medium and cook for 30-35 minutes. Add water if it gets too dry. Mix every 5 minutes or so to prevent burning. If it becomes too liquidy, remove lid and allow to simmer uncovered until it reaches desired consistency.

When the squash is tender, remove from heat and add spinach, peas and cilantro leaves. Mix and serve over rice or with a side of naan!

curry

Yum!

Leave a Reply

