[Service Review] [Product Review] Norwex – Anne Whitmore

Want to know a secret? A few days ago, I was actually pretty excited to clean my house.

Yes, you read that right. I was excited.

 

Want to know another secret? I cleaned my house without a single chemical.

I only. used. water.

Norwex has special microfibre that can remove up to 99% of bacteria from a surface. No spray, no soap, no chemicals. Just water.

 

When I first heard this, I was a bit skeptical. I wasn’t really believing that it would clean much with only water. I figured there had to be some kind of catch – a lot of elbow grease, maybe?

I’ve tried a few of their products before and have been happy with them but I have been very curious about the mop so knew I wanted to get my hands on her lending kit to test it out myself!

 

The kit included :

  • EnviroCloth
  • Dusting Mitt
  • Window Cloth
  • Mini-Mop System
  • Rubber Brush
  • Samples of Cleaning Paste, Ultra Power Plus Laundry Detergent, Odour Eliminator, Blue Diamond All-In-One Bathroom Cleaner, Dishwashing Liquid
Enviro Cloths Rainbow Package
EnviroCloth (photo credit : Norwex)

First thing I tried out was the Dusting Mitt. I used it *everywhere* I could reach and get my hands on. I used it on the hard to reach places that I save for once a month. And I used it on the places that I had used another duster on just an hour earlier. It was picking up so much dust and dirt! I loved how it was soft and smooth on my hand and that it was very comfortable to use. It glided over the surfaces with ease. I could slip it in to certain small areas to get cracks and crevices.

The second, and real reason I was dying to get my hands on the kit, was to try out the Norwex Mini-Mop System. I’ve heard many different opinions on it and had to try it out for myself. It’s very lightweight and the handle adjusts height (as someone who isn’t much past five feet tall, this is wonderful!) I love that it’s just water that I use to wash the floor. I use a steam mop and I always have to time my cleaning around the kids bedtime – vacuum as close to bedtime as possible so that I can then mop after the boys are in bed because the steam mop gets hot and leaves water that takes a bit of a time to dry. The kids leave footprints all over if I mop while they are awake… Ugh! I also have to plug the mop in.. Which doesn’t sound like that big of a deal, except our house has a serious lack of outlets and the cord is about three feet long. Total pain. Well, with the Norwex mop, I didn’t vacuum and I didn’t have to wait for them to get to bed in order to mop! I used the dry mop pad and gave everything a sweep. I used to rubber brush to pull all the hairs and dirt off the pad and into the pile of dirt which I then used our handheld Dyson to suck up. Then I ran the wet mop pad under some hot water, rung it out and slapped it onto the handle to get to work. Sammy was on the couch with a bottle, eyeing me the entire time, while Dean was on the couch playing an iPad game. I got the living room done in record time with very minimal effort and rinsing out the pad once halfway (which I don’t think I needed to do but I did it anyway!) Sammy, the second I paused to admire my work, hopped off the couch and ran right through the freshly mopped floor. He left footprints but once dry, I couldn’t find them anymore, unlike my steam mop.

IMG_6378
Cleaning with just water means that this little man can help me and I don’t have to worry about his sensitive, baby soft skin. Sammy loved helping me with the Window Cloth!

There’s so many reasons to avoid harsh chemicals when cleaning your house. My kids aren’t licking the floor anymore (on a regular basis, at least) but they do spend a lot of time sitting or laying on the floor to play. I don’t want their skin, the largest organ of their body, to be absorbing residual bleach. I also don’t like having strong smells, even if many people associate it with “clean”, overpowering my house. While we aren’t “scent free”, we don’t really use anything that have scents. We’re doing more harm than good by using disinfectants and sanitizers. Not only are we leaving a huge carbon footprint by creating and introducing these chemicals into our water systems, we’re also killing off a lot of good bacteria, as well as keeping all the little bad bacteria that keeps our immune system working and evolving. And well, water is free. Skipping the endless cleaners that are around nowadays, you’ll be saving money.

I was very impressed with everything that she had in the kit. I enjoyed testing things out but was quite sad that I didn’t have more time to clean! It was amazing how easily everything came clean!

 

But don’t just take my word for it – check out the photos below!

 

IMG_6358
One room down… The rest of the house to go!
IMG_6359
After a quick vacuum with our Dyson, I tossed the Dry Mop pad on and gave it a whirl around the house…. I still got dirt, fur and junk off the floor!
PicMonkey Collage
Before and After – Just an EnviroCloth and water after a long winter in the yard!

Interested in ordering or looking for more information?
Contact Anne on her Facebook group or browse her online catalogue!

One thought on “[Service Review] [Product Review] Norwex – Anne Whitmore

Leave a Reply

