Bye, Bye, Baby (Weight)

Is it still considered baby weight when it’s nearly four years old?

Obese-jobs---scale--weight-loss--measuring-tape-jpg

I’ve been a baby-making / baby-feeding machine for more years than not recently. Between being pregnant and nursing, I have put on almost all of the weight that I had previously lost.

Before we married, in November 2011, I had lost 85lbs. It took me two and a half years, but I was at my lowest weight I had been since I was a child. Not a teen. Not a preteen. But a child.

When I got pregnant two weeks later, the weight immediately started creeping back. After eating at weight loss and weight maintenance for years, suddenly eating at a normal amount was a shock for my body and it held onto every ounce of delicious food.

Everyone claims that breastfeeding makes the baby weight melt away – WHAT. EVER. Nope! I continued to gain. I couldn’t lose weight, even while trying to eat healthy, smaller portions and exercised a fair amount. It just wasn’t happening.

 

Fast forward nearly five years since our wedding, I am still holding onto all that weight. And then some.

 

It’s time for us to part ways.

38035_10150243703385570_5040345_n
Before and After : 2011

Starting Monday, I am starting back on Weight Watchers. I used it for a bit towards the end of my last weight loss (for the last 10lbs or so) and I liked the easy interface and flexibility to have a treat here and there.

I’m looking forward to getting to a healthier me!

 

My next check in will be in two weeks from my start : check back in towards the end of June for an update!

Leave a Reply

